The First 48

Well, I made it!

As long as I go straight to bed after posting thing without eating, I will have made it through the first two days of my Paleo challenge.

My hubby (who is kind of doing the challenge with me…mostly just at dinner) told me to just write “VEGETABLES…” for this entry!  From that you can tell what the majority of our food has been!   I think we’ve eaten more veggies in the past two days than we have in a month!

In case you have decided to do your own Paleo challenge with me, here’s what I’ve been eating since my last post:

I forgot to mention that I am ADDICTED to not only sugar, but artificial sweeteners.  I would say that most of my body is made up of pure aspartame (horrible, I know!)  Diet pop, crystal light, flavored water, Equal in my coffee…almost everything that I drink has it!  I knew there was no way that I would be able to go Paleo without SOME sort of sweet, fruity drink to keep me from downing a bag of Skittles.  Luckily, I found this recipe on Pinterest!

Ingredients for Paleo Cool Aid

Just brew up six bags of tea in four cups of water, add two (or more) tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, sweeten with liquid Stevia, and add enough water to fill a gallon pitcher.

I needed some more tartness so I also juiced a lemon and a lime in my “Cool Aid”.

Delicious!

For lunch I was supposed to have a can of tuna mixed with an avocado, but my avocados were rock solid…so I used a teeny bit of mayo.  No…I haven’t gotten around to making my own Paleo mayo yet!

Lunchtime!

Tip: Since of course crackers are a no-no, I used red peppers instead and it was surprisingly satisfying!

For dinner we grilled chicken and zucchini, and I made my first cauliflower mash.

Jojo plated this! I would have made it prettier, I swear!

I’m not a huge fan of mashed potatoes anyway (I know…strange) so I actually highly enjoyed the cauliflower!  So did Jojo!  I just steamed a cut-up head of cauliflower, tossed it in the blender with a tablespoon of butter (from grassfed cows…so it’s Paleo!), about 1/8th of a cup of bacon fat, salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary, and red pepper flakes.  It came out so nice and fluffy!

Yesterday was pretty easy!

Then there was today…

I had ZERO energy today!

Granted, I am still getting over a terrible bout of bronchitis, but my body was aching for some bread and sugar today!

So, no pics of my food today.

Breakfast consisted of two of the quiche from yesterday’s post; yum!

Lunch was an avocado with lime and salt, an apple, and some nitrate-free turkey slices.

For dinner I made my usual crockpot sausage pasta sauce, except with Trader Joe’s chicken sausages instead of pork.  I served it over spaghetti squash.

Now let me tell you something…spaghetti squash may look convincing…but at the end of the day it is still SQUASH!  This Italian family did NOT love it.  But with enough sauce and sausage, it was definitely edible.

My favorite part of the past two caveman days has been my dark chocolate square (or three) after dinner.  I just can’t NOT have dessert (thanks, Mom!!!)  According to my Paleo sources, dark chocolate in small portions is allowed!

 

So there you have it!  I still cannot make any promises about how long I’ll last, but I’m doing my best!

One thought on “The First 48

  1. Sorry, but some of this just sounds gross. Mostly, you’re just eating healthy like I’ve been telling you?! Does this mean no happy hour? What alcohol can you drink? Straight tequila? 🙂

Leave a Reply

