Jumping on the Bandwagon!

After months of being pretty good about going to the gym but still indulging daily in the kitchen, I decided to bite the bullet and TRY the 30 Day Paleo Challenge!  I am fully expecting to not make it the full 30 days…but I’m okay with that!  For some reason I’m feeling very excited about “challenging” myself!  In the gym, it’s easy for me to make excuses.  I have kneecaps that love to dislocate whenever running or even walking is involved.  Because of my lovely knees, it’s easy for me to scale back my workouts out of fear of being back on crutches.  In the kitchen, however, I have no excuse not to give 100%!

So yesterday I did my favorite thing of all: a day-before-the-diet pig out!  For me, it was a Nico’s bacon, egg, cheese, and potato burrito, cookies, Little Caesar’s deep dish pizza, and tapioca pudding.

But now it’s Monday.

DAY 1!

In case you don’t know what the Paleo diet is, here’s a little graphic to clue you in:


That’s right, this Italian girl can no longer have bread, pasta, or cheese! Are you kidding me?!

I have absolutely no intention of living my life like this permanently…I love those foods way too much!  BUT, I want to see if I can do it for 30 days (or even a week!)

I am loosely following this blog for my 30 Day Challenge, but supplementing with my favorite resource for ANYTHING, Pinterest (click the link to see my Paleo board.)

Here’s what today has entailed so far:

TONS OF WATER

Whipping up a batch of Paleo breakfast quiches

Ingredients for bfast quiches: I used bacon, onions, zucchini, tomatoes, red pepper, spinach, and fresh basil.

Scramble 12 eggs in a pyrex cup, add a splash of water and seasonings, pour into muffin pan that has been sprayed with coconut oil.

Sprinkle in the bacon and veggies, bake at 350 for 15-20 mins.

Voila! Paleo mini breakfast quiches!

This is supposed to be my breakfast for the next week.  Since they weren’t done in time, I just fried some eggs for today’s breakfast.

Today’s bfast, note lack of buttery toast and cream and sugar in the coffee.

I know breakfast will be the easy part of Paleo for me.  I usually have eggs for breakfast everyday anyway.  It’s making it to bedtime without a belly full of bread and sugar that will be the real challenge!

Is anyone else currently eating like a caveman?  I would love any tips/favorite recipes of yours!

One thought on “Jumping on the Bandwagon!

Leave a Reply

